top of page

Box of Souls: Wake Up Call

(TW: Blood)


The latch on the box creaked before bursting open and allowing the bouncing orb to land inside. I contained the others quickly and then picked Damien out of the box before hiding it behind my back as my door swung open and Ray looked worried.


"Are you okay? That was loud, it sounded like an intruder." He was totally on guard in a way that I had never seen him like before. Even bursting into my room like this was so out of the ordinary. I shook my head and smiled as the box buzzed against my nightstand. I watched Ray head back out to the kitchen when I realized the aroma of breakfast had been in the air as I struggled with the orbs. I walked into the room and Ray had returned to flipping the almost burnt flapjacks in a pan. I gripped Damien's orb in one hand and the box in the other.


"Are you okay?" I asked, not necessarily concerned, but I knew that it had something to do with Damien.


"Just fine. Felt like making breakfast for you for a change. Well for us. I mean, just had the urge to cook, you know?" He was stuttering, maybe even blushing?


"Yeah, okay. Thanks. I appreciate it." I was accepting it, not every day your hot ass roommate wants to cook me breakfast in a pair of sweatpants. Damian was vibrating in my hand and I laughed as called Ray's name and then tossed the orb in his direction. It happened so fast, but I could see it slowed down in my mind. Damien swirled into his mouth and I saw his light disappear down his Ray's throat before another orb popped out. Ray landed softly in my box and Damien came to inside of my roommate's body.


"Breakfast? Looks delicious." Damien was almost drooling as he looked at the food and then up at me with a smile. I took over pancake duty and tossed the last of them onto the plate before joining Damien in the feast that had been prepared for me.


"We've got another orb in the box. Figured you could help." I said, pushing a sliced strawberry into my mouth.


"It's about time." Ray had full cheeks as I laughed behind a glass of orange juice. "Let's get to it." He wiped his face and I held out my hands..


"Why don't you enjoy this for a second and then I'll get in the shower. We can interrogate the orb afterwards." I said, folding my napkin neatly against my plate and then excusing myself.

 

The sun was shining as the morning had just gained light. The rooftop was empty except for one man leaning against a broken chunk of a wall. He heard a light whooshing sound coming from behind him and just as he turned around he watched the glowing orb pop into his mouth. He jumped and widened his eyes as the soul disappeared into him and then suddenly another one popped out, rushing through the air to the box to hold it since there wasn't an empty vessel. The occupant was squinting at the son as he pushed his hand under his shirt and felt up the body he had control over.

It wasn't long before he let his pants start to fall even more than they were and he removed his shirt, looking down at his husk.


"Yes, this will do perfectly." He flexed his muscles, watching them tighten as he ran his hands over them.

He looked over to an ashtray, still smoking from the cigarette he was puffing as he watched the sun rise. He scoffed and started climbing down a ladder on the side of the building. Inside, a group of guys were arguing over losing a video game, tossing the controller as the fight came to a climax.


The possessed guy looked over the room, noticing a few key details. A gun laying on the table next to a messy deck of cards, a knife sticking into the doorless frame of the bathroom, and finally a duffel bag of cash sitting next to the sofa.


Just as the men turned to see him, he stepped towards the table, reached for the gun and shot the two men with expert precision. Blood splattered against the wall as their heads fell back and another man came from the other room. He went to shoot the gun again, but it clicked. Out of ammunition. He stepped to the side, grabbed the knife from the door frame just as the other man grabbed him.


"What are you doing, bro?" He said. The possessed man spun around and plunged the sharp knife into his neck, slicing the jugular and feeling the blood land on his shirtless body as he slid down to the floor to choke on his own blood. He brought his fingers up to his lips, feeling a sense of pleasure as he took a deep breath.

"Ah, it's good to be alive again." Devgan said in his new form.

 

I looked inside at the orb that flew in and looked up at Damien who was munching on some last bits of bacon.


"Ready?" I asked, he nodded.

I let him finish swallowing before I removed Damien from my roommates body and then quickly slipped the new one in. He came to with a cough, and pressed his hand against his chest as he adjusted to his new vision.


"Yo, what the fuck was in that?" He asked, looking around at my apartment.


"Hey, look, something bad has happened and I need to know where you last were." I was holding onto his shoulders and he pushed them away.


"Yo, bro, back the fuck off." He held up a fist as he continued to massage his pecs through his sweater. He looked down at himself, lifting up the hoodie and then looking inside of it, "Wow, I don't know what the fuck happened but this is sick." He flexed his arms and felt them up through his sleeve, the go-to move for the recently possessed I supposed.


"Listen, this isn't your body and your real body might be in a lot of danger." I was staring him down, already getting a cold feeling from him.


"Look, bro, whatever is happening I'm totally cool with. I got a new body, a new chance to make things the way I want them to. I'm not going back to the body of a criminal." He crossed his arms.


"Look, I just need you to tell where your old body is, you can keep this one," I decided to adjust my tactic, "I kind of like how you're making this one act." I said seductively.


"Oh? A kinky motherfucker. Are you this guys boyfriend or something? I guess I should say my boyfriend." He smirked.


"Yeah, something like that." Another fib.


"Maybe I'll let you suck my new dick," he grabbed his crotch, "fine, I was at 307 Roundabout. It's on a not-so-nice side of town. I would know, I lived there."


"Great." I said, then quickly pushed my hand against his chest.


"No- you sai- " He choked and then out popped his soul. Damien came to once I slid him in.


"Did you get in the info?" He asked, dusting himself off of the invisible residue of another man controlling that muscle.


"Yeah, we're dealing with someone who is a little shady. He might be violent, but I have an address." I sighed.

 

Devgan used his foot to flip over the three bodies that were now bleeding on the floor and smirked. His eyes were evil, even if they weren't before, and when he extended his arms over the three men his eyes started to glow. In some sort of ancient language, he started chanting and the three men were magically brough to their feet with glowing red eyes.


"This sorcerer better be prepared. I've learned some new tricks." He grinned.



1,922 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page